LA car crash: Guide to the basic auto accident laws in California

Getting injured in a car accident can be a scary and overwhelming experience. Despite the talk around on-road safety norms, accidents and collisions are not rare in and around Los Angeles. Immediately after a car accident, you have a lot to consider. Besides calling 911 for medical assistance and informing the police, you need to inform your insurance company and should consider lawyering up. Talking to one of the known car accident attorneys Los Angeles can be a big plus. Lawyers know what it takes to protect and defend clients, and a good attorney can improve your chances of getting a fair settlement. Here’s what you need to know about auto accident laws in California. 

The claimant-friendly fault system 

California is a pure comparative negligence state. When two drivers are partly responsible for the same car accident, both have the right to seek compensation from the other party at fault. Even when you are more to blame for the crash than the other driver, you can ask for a settlement for your losses and injuries. However, your eventual settlement will be less than what you deserve, depending on the fault percentage. 

Take this example – You suffered losses in a car accident and were found to be 50% at fault. You were awarded a settlement of $50,000 for your losses. In these circumstances, you can only get $25,000 as the final settlement for your claim. The $25,000 that you lost is because of your fault. 

The statute of limitations

California’s statute of limitations sets the deadline to bring a personal injury lawsuit after an accident, which extends to auto accident cases. You have two years to seek compensation from the other party by filing a civil lawsuit. The statute of limitations is not applicable to insurance claims. If you want to pursue a third-party insurance claim, you have to do so within a reasonable time. Remember that the clock continues to tick as you file a claim an negotiate with the other party’s insurer. The 2-year deadline starts from the date of the accident. 

Get a lawyer

Not all accident cases are equal. If you have suffered serious injuries in the accident or have a share in fault, you should consider seeking the help of a proficient lawyer. Find an attorney who frequently works on auto accident claims and lawsuits in their practice. Don’t shy away from asking questions related to your claim or the circumstances of the case.